Take A Look At The 27 Schools Seeded For 2020 NSMQ

Image via enewsgh

Twenty-seven schools have automatically qualified for the 2020 National Science and Math Quiz (NSMQ).

The schools were the quarter-finalists in the 2019 edition, which saw St Augustine’s College beat PRESEC-Legon and St Peter’s SHS to the title.

Losing finalists and record winners Presbyterian Boys’ SHS will lead Greater Accra Region’s charge. They will be joined by Accra Academy, Achimota School, Chemu SHS and St John’s Grammar.

Central Region will have the winners, Augusco, leading that region with Wesley Girls’ High School, Adisadel College, University Practice SHS and Boa Amponsem SHS automatically joining them in next year’s contest.

Opoku Ware School, Prempeh College, Kumasi Academy and Oti Boateng SHS are among the Ashanti Region schools seeded. The rest are Obuasi SHS, TI AMASS and Tepa SHS, which won the Dr Kwaku Mensa Bonsu Award for the Best Less-Endowed School in 2019.

Volta Region has Keta SHTS and Kpando SHS as the only schools seeded from that region.

Takoradi SHS, GSTS and St. John’s School will represent the Western Region, pending the schools that will make it from the regional championships.

Tamale SHS and Ghana SHS will represent the Northern Region.

Past winners Pope John’s SHS will join St Peter’s as the Eastern Region schools seeded.

St Ignatius of Loyola have also been seeded and they are from the Upper West Region.

Conspicuously missing from the list include past winners Mfantsipim School, St Thomas Aquinas and 2018 sensation West Africa SHS.

The seeded schools will miss the preliminary round and will join competition at the one-eighth stage.

The quiz competition will be held in June 2020 at the University of Ghana, Legon.

Source: 3News.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here